Miller-Heindel Barn

Miller-Heindel Barn • Order A Print

In 1819, a Pennsylvania German family (Miller) erected a barn and farmhouse east of York. They would go on to play a major role in York County’s agrarian heritage. In 1936 a fire—believed started by spontaneous composition of the roof—destroyed much of the building. However, the foundation and some timbers remained, and the barn was rebuilt. In 1989, a local architectural firm—NuTec Design—was retained to renovate the historic building and adapt it to new use as an office. The building is now known as the Concord Corporate Center, and is a 17,000 sq. ft. juxtaposition of modern office space into unique historic surroundings.

Back to Geographic ChannelBack to Architectural Channel

© 2002 by Scott D. Butcher


Virtual YorkGeographic ChannelArchitectural Channel
History ChannelDiscovery ChannelAbout UsBibliography
LibraryFeedbackOrder FormYorkLinks Home